Recommended Reading

February 16, 2007 at 3:37 pm | Posted in Blogroll | 2 Comments

It will be a few more days before I get together something new for you folks; I am off to Las Vegas for the weekend. Ah, and what would Simone Weil think of Sin City? Expect answers when I return.

That was mostly a joke, I think. In the meantime, allow me to recommend some interesting work my colleagues have been doing. The blogosphere has been an exciting place lately, so exciting that I have not been able to keep up with it in a timely manner! surlacarte has been writing a series of posts on de Man’s concept of irony in response to a post Kugelmass put up a few months ago. Kugelmass’ original post is here, and plenty interesting, but not strictly necessary to understanding either of surlacarte’s new posts: Part 1, and Part 2. The first post lays out his objections to Joe’s reading, and the second one makes an intriguing connection to Pascal’s wager. Kugelmass has responded with an exciting post at The Valve in which he lays out a theory of reading which treats texts as invitations — an idea I will eventually have Things To Say about after my return.

If theorizing about irony is not your bag, surlacarte has also jumped in to the Neruda discussion with an interesting post that is in dialogue with Joe’s and my posts on Poem XIV from Viente Poemas de Amor. surlacarte’s Spanish puts mine to shame, and he raises a number of interesting issues about the poem’s translation, as well as providing an insightful interpretation of my reading to which I will respond soon. Stay tuned!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for the good publicity. How was Vegas? Sarah and I went the previous weekend.

    Looking forward to your thoughts on Neruda. Also, my response to the first part of Joe’s response is up at http://oubliesurlacarte.wordpress.com/2007/02/24/irony-3-2/

  2. Oops, changed: http://oubliesurlacarte.wordpress.com/2007/02/24/irony-3/


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

